COLEHILL PARISH COUNCIL



ROAD SAFETY WORKING GROUP - TERMS OF REFERENCE

Under Standing Order 4 the Council may set up advisory committees that consist of Councillors and members of the public.

1. Sponsorship

The Road Safety Working Group was established by Council at the meeting held on 6th May 2025.

2. Scope

Colehill Parish Council has no power to make road safety decisions, but can act as a voice for the community, suggesting improvements to the appropriate authority. This Group will act on behalf of the Council to investigate and where appropriate consult with our residents regarding a number of potential road safety measures.

Topics within scope include:

- a) The potential installation of two pedestrian crossings points on Middlehill Road, near Lonnen Road and near Cutlers Place. These locations were agreed as priorities following our public consultation in 2021. They have passed initial surveys, and now await implementation by Dorset Council.
- b) The potential introduction of a 20mph scheme in the vicinity of Hayeswood School / Cutlers Place / Hayes Lane. This scheme has been proposed by Cllr Jindy Atwal. Dorset Council are currently conducting speed surveys funded by ourselves.
- c) Identifying additional sites that may be suitable for deploying a Speed Indicator Device (SID) and considering whether we should purchase a 2nd SID.
- d) Engaging with Dorset Road Safety team to consider additional road safety measures that may be appropriate in the vicinity of St Michael's School and Triangle Woods.

3. Approach

The Group will be managed in accordance with the Council's Working Group Protocol.

The Group has no decision making or budgetary powers. For all decisions the Group will prepare options & recommendations for agreement by full Council or an appropriate Committee.

4. Membership

The Group may consist of both Councillors and members of the public and may co-opt additional members at its discretion.

5. Meetings

The Group will meet as and when required.

This Terms of Reference will be reviewed annually, it was initially agreed on 6th May 2025 and the next review is due by May 2026.